Skip to content

Charmkins <3

Mon July 26 2010

i have moved these flower scented little sweeties all over the country, and before they were packed in my boxes, my parents must have moved them all over town with them since i outgrew them.  three playhouses and 17 Charmkins left standing, not too bad for more than twenty years later!  i did have more of them, i can see them vividly in my mind, i’m just not sure if they were lost before or after i passed them on down to my own smelly-dolly-play loving girls.  {and yes,  i do still have my Cabbage Patch dolls, my Fluppy Puppy and my bestest teddy bear too…}

Bug has had custody of these toys for a few years and has off and on played with them a bit, but this past weekend was Charmkin-loving-flower-power-party-weekend. It was ALL about the Charmkins. Thanks to other 80s plaything documentarians like this site, we were able to “identify your Charmkins” with all their names {which is also what made me realize which ones i am missing!}, and we had to keep looking them up again and again!  clearly it was critical to be able to know their names, so, in typical never-mind-the-to-do-list fashion, we instead had a Charmkin photo shoot in the jewerly house, we chose our best shots, edited them, added their proper names, had the photos printed and made a sweet little accordion folded Charmkin directory book to store with them.

and since i’m a digi-scrapper, i took all my lovely new labeled Charmkins photos and plopped them into this great template from JessicaSprague.com and dressed it up a bit, and ta-da! a memory for ME and my girls:

please click on the image above to see full credits in the {Inspiration} Gallery at jessicasprague.com

below are some of the digital products  i used to quickly make this page:

this awesome collection of chalkboard papers from Kitschy Digitals

this super template from Creativity by Crystal AND her fantabulous font:

[so, i will admit that we did not get the floors washed, or all of the laundry done that day… but we did have some mother-daughter crafty time and made some memories, in more ways than one. and the floors are still there waiting for me…]

now that’s a happy day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mon July 26 2010 6:59 pm

    How sappy am I that I actually cried looking at this?! I LOVED Buttercup so much, it was one of my favourite toys of any kind. I can still remember how these smell.

    I wonder if I still have mine? I am now feeling possessed to go through my boxes of crap in the basement…

    • 2girlsandapoodle permalink*
      Wed July 28 2010 12:46 pm

      i clearly loved Buttercup too – he’s all scratched and dented. you had all those strawberry shortcakes, remember!?

  2. Tue July 27 2010 9:28 am

    Oh, I loved my charmkins! I’ve got them all ready for when my little girl is old enough to play with them. Going to check out that link now!

    • 2girlsandapoodle permalink*
      Wed July 28 2010 12:46 pm

      yay! glad to know that i’m not the only one that saved them! too bad they haven’t revived charmkins, in the everything-80s-is-new-again phase recently 😉

Leave a Reply

