Skip to content

a preschool narrative

Mon March 15 2010

the little turkey has taken to narrating her sad events in a peculiar way.  just this morning, when she ate all the strawberries but still wanted more and i had to say no there aren’t any more you ate them all, it went a little like this:

turkey:  wahh, ahh ahh ahh!!

turkey: this is what happened to meeeeee… you won’t give me strawberries!!!

turkey: wahh, ahhhhhh, ahhhhhh ahh ahh

turkey: you won’t give me a chance, wahh ahhh ahhh…..

say what?! clearly three-year-olds are little sponges, soaking up all they hear.  but the opener of “this is what happened to me….” is something we hear many times a day lately.  always followed by something very tragic and heart rending:

“this is what happened to me.  i was walking and fall down, and bang my leg. like this. (and she reenacts the awful event)”

“this is what happened to me. i fall down. i fall down on my back and i hit my head. that’s what happened.” (and she mimes a bonk on the head)

“this is what happened…. you let me cry!  wahh ahh ahh ahh”

sometimes this is told after the fact, very matter-of-fact-ly, and sometimes it’s told in the deep dark moment of hurt.  oh dear… but hugs help.  that’s good!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. oddlybuoyant permalink*
    Mon March 15 2010 10:45 pm

    she actually says “this what happened to me” – she skips the ‘is’. who needs that, you can get to the point much quicker this way, you know.

  2. Nonnie permalink
    Tue March 16 2010 4:16 pm

    So cute.

Leave a Reply

