Skip to content

List It Tuesday: What I Love About Living on Vancouver Island

Tue October 16 2012

LOVE Artsyville‘s List It Tuesday thing; decided this was the perfect topic to jump in on: what you love about where you live.

Over breakfast with the kids, I doodled some things about living here that I love and shared those via Instagram and Twitter – those sticky note photos follow all this.

Here are some longer-winded things I love about where we live…

* while other parts of Canada are celebrating Fall by withering, dropping off, dying, turning brown, folding up and preparing to be buried for several months in a row, Vancouver Island is just only beginning to soak up the elixer to bust out all green, (nearly) all over, all winter long. It’s a green winter out here, friends, and it’s a good thing. (and we get it twice – Spring on Van Isle is also a bountiful green escapade of new life and growth, summer gets a little crunchy and brown but you hardly notice what with the blinding blue of the sky and the ocean, then Fall again brings some lushness to Winter. nice, huh?!)

* winter here actually allows me to not really *have to* force the bicker-y morning rush of enforcing layers upon layers of warm clothes on resisting kids. i can let go, let them out the door in that one sweater, and not have to actually worry about frostbite and hypothermia. yeah, they might get chilly and they might get damp, but their extremeties are actually pretty safe. it might dip down to a bone chilling ZERO degrees celcius… (I grew up in the -30 degree celcius winters of frigid Northern Ontario)

* we like driving daytripping, and even though we pretty much haven’t gone further than 3 hours in any one direction, the things we can see and do in that tiny bubble of do-able road time is pretty super terrific. 3 hours brings me to Tofino and Ucluelet and I don’t think anything is as awesome as the wild west coast of Canada. Tofino used to be a dream destination, a “one day maybe I’ll see it” idea. 3 hours in another direction would pretty much deliver us to seattle, and if you knew me in the 90s you’ll know how cool that idea is (that’s a trip we still haven’t done though, nor have we run through the forest of the Olympic Penninsula or strolled the beach at La Push, lol. one day!)

* i can wear crocs year-round. yep, you read that right.

*the clouds and mist that crawl down the hills and float in the harbour are spectacularly awesome. i love that. it’s beautiful. i do.not.not.at.all. miss snow, because of the fog and cloud and mist. thank you.

*i can SEE mountains. yes, Vancouver Island has it’s own mountains, but jagged peaky towering mountains make my heart full and I can see them on the mainland from here. we used to live at the edge of the foothills of the Rocky Mountains and i loved them, and while this is not the same, it’s still very very good.

* it looks like this

 

 

 

20121016-105459.jpg

20121016-105532.jpg

20121016-105643.jpg

20121016-105724.jpg

20121016-105411.jpg

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn permalink
    Tue October 16 2012 11:25 am

    I have only been to Vancouver once in my life, and was totally impressed. And that was before I knew you had two springs! I have to go back now.
    I love the way you doodled on post-it’s and applied them to photos to photograph (I think)…makes the list turn out very cool!

  2. Tue October 16 2012 12:11 pm

    Gorgeous photos. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Tue October 16 2012 11:39 pm

    Okay, I want to move. I love this post! I love the pictures of your island, thank you for sharing them! Gorgeous.

  4. Wed October 17 2012 6:50 am

    cute sticking circles and lovely photos! {:-Deb

  5. Wed October 17 2012 2:30 pm

    great post… and loved the sticky circles… and those photos are simply amazing… happy list day… I look forward to my next visit…xx

  6. Thu October 18 2012 10:45 am

    I completely agree…living on an island is so awesome! Thanks for sharing your list :)

  7. Thu October 18 2012 2:25 pm

    I’m jealous! What an awesome sounding place…

  8. Thu October 18 2012 6:41 pm

    I am seriously having location envy going around to everyone’s homes here! It sounds like paradise. Thanks for showing us your beautiful pics and the fun doodled circles! xo

  9. Tue October 23 2012 7:48 am

    i love those day trips where you just drive to explore. always an adventure. great list!

  10. Thu November 01 2012 6:19 pm

    Beautiful photos! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 646 other followers

