Skip to content

One Week in the Life: Day 2 with doodles on photos, date tabs and hand writing

Thu July 28 2011

I’m mostly working one day behind with my Week in the Life book, and that’s working out well for me. I am downloading my camera at the end of each day, choosing and editing my photos and maybe printing them. It looks like the next morning is when I’m ready to put it all in my book, once the day has relaxed a bit in my mind.


Here’s the full completed page. The left side paper is the back of the paper bag/kraft paper, and the right side paper is a green textured cardstock. I added in a receipt from our local grocery store from my late evening trip to get some much desired ice cream. I circled the time stamp on the receipt (7:00pm!).


I’m really enjoying writing right on my photos, adding extra little bits of story. Here I used my white gel pen, and also doodled on some of the photos too. I’ve got some washi tape as a background detail, and I wrote some funny things my four-year old said today right on top of the tape.


I kept on doodling – I drew some sudsy bubbles on the dog, and labeled my dad in the photo. The journaling also mentions that he bathed the dog with us, but he’s not really identifiable in the photo so I thought I’d make that clear and have a little fun with the open at the same time. During this day my husband and I were chatting on facebook, and I included a screen shot of our chat window. We used to write a lot of emails to each other way back when (and send postcards), and I still enjoy communicating with him in that way. It makes my day, often.


I made these date tabs for each day of my week in the life week. The cardboard is a torn starbucks cup sleeve, and by the leftover ink on the corner of this one, I must have been using it to stamp texture on something else previously.


I didn’t think I would title each day’s page, like a traditional scrapbook page (nor did I especially want to title them), but it seems I am doing exactly that. Old habits die hard? Not sure. It adds a little to the story, which is nice. I used vertical pieces of washi tape in a pattern, and made my title on top in just my handwriting and an alpha. When I first started scrapbooking (15 years ago? more? eeps. I don’t know!) I ALWAYS hand lettered my page titles and I find the more I get back to paper (after years of digiscrap), the more I still love hand lettering and handwriting. The imperfect and wonky nature of it is all part of the charm, and the documenting – it’s mine, and will always be a reminder of me, if anyone returns to these pages without me.

(something else I have loved nearly all my life is the comma splice. sorry about that, can’t help it)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thu August 04 2011 1:05 pm

    I love love love the doodling on the pictures. I thought you had done it with your tablet; didn’t realize you can write right on pictures. The bubbles on the dog are particularly adorable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 646 other followers

